Garden Fence; Rabbits and Voles Stay Out!

I put in the fence almost as planned (see the last post here).

First, I dug a trench around the perimeter of the garden.  Then I pounded  U poles into the bottom of the trench using a rubber mallet.  It wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be.

Ditch for garden fence 1

Closeup of garden fence ditch

I attached one end of the 1/4″ opening wire mesh fence to the first pole.  The bottom edge of the fencing was below ground level so that varmints won’t dig under it.  It had been recommended to flare the bottom out, but I didn’t have wire cutters to make the necessary cuts at the corners.   The only attachment wire I had on hand was some crafting wire I had used to make Christmas ornaments, and the gauge was rather flimsy–but it held.  I wrapped the fencing around the outside of the garden, attaching it to each pole.  Then I filled in the trench, burying the bottom edge of the fence.

New vegetable garden fence

Another view of the new garden fence

The last decision to make was concerning a gate.   Most of the other gardeners prop up a piece of plywood at the opening, and remove it when they want to enter the garden.  But I don’t have any plywood available,  so I used part of the Gardener’s Supply Company’s plastic mesh fence kit as my “gate.”  It is really easy to install; you just pound in the poles and use the included clips to attach the green plastic mesh to them.

Green mesh fence kit from Gardener's Supply Company

The clips used to attach the mesh to the fence poles

If I really need to roll in a wheelbarrow, I can take that part down.  But to enter the garden myself, I have been just stepping over the 2-foot fence.

Now to (finally!) start planting!

About Nana's House and Garden

I am a retired baby boomer who was born and raised in New Jersey. Had a lovely, happy childhood in a surburb that was similar to what you would see in "Peanuts." Went with family EVERY YEAR to the Jersey Shore and believe me the people in that TV show..and in the Sopranos...are NOT representative of most NJ residents. Married a widower with three boys and then had two daughters. All are now grown, and I have several step-grandchildren and one biological grandson. I worked out of my home doing medical transcription while my daughters were growing up. Now that my husband is retired, I quit the part time transcription business to stay home and keep him company. One of our daughters is still living with us and we enjoy her company, also. I have started a sideline business with my college classmate. We discovered that we each had once had an elderly relative who was called "Nana" so we decided to name the business "Nana's House and Garden." We sell items on eBay that are related to home, gardening and crafts. This blog and our website "Nanashouseandgarden.com" will be companions to our eBay store. We hope they will be informative and entertaining.
This entry was posted in Garden Fencing, Pest Control, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

